Warning: include(/home/content/w/i/l/wilwrite/html/0/menu4.htm) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/59/3908159/html/1/herzog.php on line 12

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '/home/content/w/i/l/wilwrite/html/0/menu4.htm' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/content/59/3908159/html/1/herzog.php on line 12

2015 Kate Herzog Scholarships     

Willamette Writers

Sponsors the 2015 Kate Herzog Scholarships

The Herzog Writing Scholarship is named for a founder of Willamette Writers. Its purpose is to encourage and support a new generation of writers.

In 2015, there are four scholarships. Financial amounts to be determined will be in the range of $100-$250, and winners are awarded one free day of attendance at the Willamette Writers Conference.

High school seniors and college freshman and sophomores are eligible to enter.

To apply for a 2015 scholarship please forward:

1. Original, unpublished writing sample of less than 1000 words, typed, double-spaced. The sample should be titled, but should not include any information about the author. Writing published in school publications is eligible. Any topic. Fiction and poetry also accepted.

2. A cover letter with contact information that includes the title of the writing sample, and a paragraph that includes information about the student's goals as a writer.

3. Letter of recommendation from an instructor in the current academic year. Letter can brief, one or two short paragraphs. It's purpose is to confirm this is a submission by a student interested in writing.
Submit all materials to the following address:
    Kate Herzog Scholarship
    Willamette Writers
    2108 Buck St
    West Linn, OR 97068

In previous years, student entries have ranged about one third fiction, one third essays, one third memoirs, and some poetry. Letters of recommendation have generally run one to two short paragraphs. Long letters are not necessary.

Dates to Remember
    Application Deadline March 27th, 2015 (post mark deadline; must be in the mail by the 27th)
    Finalists Will Be Announced June 30, 2015
    Scholarships Will Be Awarded August 2nd, 2015

Finalists will be responsible for their own travel and accommodation expenses if they attend the conference.

There are four scholarships. Financial amounts will be in the range of $100-$150. Winners are invited to attend the annual Willamette Writers conference.

An application can able be entered through Submittable.


The winners of the 2014 Kate Herzog Scholarships are...

John Himes, for his poem The Woman Whose Needle Disappeared, first place.

Raven Eckman took 2nd place for Dark Dealings.

Anisha Datta took 3rd place for her novel excerpt Sensa.

Christine Xu's short story Grieg From a Hospital Corner took fourth place.

Scholarship checks will be mailed to the schools our winners are attending in the Fall of 2014.

For updates about the Herzog Scholarship, join our mailing list.

Join Our Mailing List

Willamette Writers is the largest writers' organization in Oregon and one of the largest writers' organizations in the United States. It is a non-profit, tax-exempt Oregon corporation led by volunteers. Elected officials and directors administer an active program of monthly meetings, special seminars, workshops and annual writing conference. Continuing with established programs and starting new ones is only made possible by strong volunteer support. Members continually explore other ways to interact in the literary community and to exchange information about writing resources.

Willamette Writers President Cynthia Whitcomb speaks about what the group offers in this video.

Willamette Writers' goal is to provide and encourage a creative environment and support system for current and aspiring writers. Since its beginning in 1965, Willamette Writers has provided meeting places for the exchange of ideas and information and has initiated programs designed to help writers increase skills related to the craft of writing. Both published and aspiring writers are invited to join. Dues are $36 a year.

For information about our meetings in Portland, Eugene, Central Point, Salem, and Newport (Oregon Coast) including meeting times, speakers and locations, check out our meetings page.

The popular Willamette Writers annual writing conference will be August 1-3rd, 2014, at the Lloyd Center DoubleTree Hotel.

The winners of the 2013 Kate Herzog Scholarships were...

Rachel Roberts for Wilhoit Cactus, first place.

Jalynn Harris for Out of Childhood, second place.

Daniel James Gonzales for A Mirror in the Window, third place.

Talicia Montoya for Lacrymosa, fourth place

In 2013, high school seniors and college freshman and sophomores can enter. There are four scholarships. Financial amounts to be determined will be in the range of $100-$250. The winners of the 2012 Kate Herzog Scholarships are...

Haley Boston for Bloodline, first place.

Haylee Reynolds for Writers for Democracy Shapocracy, second place.

Tom Orr for Give Chase, third place.

Matthew Petroske for In Search of Perfection, fourth place

The winners of the 2011 Kate Herzog Scholarships are...

Rachel Verleur Jani for Awake, first place.

Sarah Anischik for Heart Strings, second place.

Sarah Iverson for From Dad to Father, third place.

Kayla Silvey, for Cider and Snowflakes, fourth place

Joshua Felix, for Danny Boy, Honorable Mention.

Edgar Trujillo, for Deceitful Beauty, Honorable Mention.

The winners of the 2010 Kate Herzog Scholarships were...

Angelica Julia Davila for Tips, first place.

Jennifer Moore for A Sigh, second place.

James Bojaciuk for Pockets, third place.

Alissa Lowe, for Tir Na Nog: The Land of Eternal Youth, fourth place.

Chelsea Bokman, for Dovely, Honorable Mention.

Karah Kemmerly, for Home Alone, Honorable Mention.

Priscilla McCelvey, for Scars for Fences, Honorable Mention.

Emelie Havard, for Even Angels Cry, Honorable Mention.

Winners were invited to an awards banquet at the annual Willamette Writers conference August 7th, 2010.

The winners of the 2009 Kate Herzog Scholarships were...

Boulay accepts her Kate Herzog Writing Scholarship at Willamette Writers annual awards banquet.

Erica Boulay for her entry What I Don't Remember, first place.

Erica accepts her scholarship from Cynthia Whitcomb. Photo, Frank DiMarco.

Kara Moran for Meet Gary Scott, second place.

Kelsey Burritt for Theft, third place.

Kate Canter for Pockets, fourth place.

Caitlin Fry, honorable mention for Have You Seen This Father?